Department of Agriculture

The Department of Agriculture is one of the oldest Government Departments in the country. It was established with the commencement of first five-year plan in 1961. Early activities focused mainly on agriculture and establishment of research stations at Yusipang and Samtenling. During 1990’s and 2000’s, the Department of Agriculture has undergone numerous institutional reorganizations. The name of the institutes and mandates therefore never remained consistent. However over the period of time the human resource and institutional capacity of the Department has been greatly strengthened.


Capacity Development Training on Crop Modeling underway in Paro

Agrometeorology Program under Agriculture Research & Extension Division (ARED) of the Department of Agriculture is organizing a week-long capacity development training on crop modeling from 25-29 November 2019 at Metta Resort, Paro.

Sensitization Workshop on Weather and Climate Services under way at ARDC Samtenling

Agrometeorology Program under Agriculture Research and Extension Division (ARED) in collaboration with National Centre for Hydrology & Meteorology (NCHM) is organizing two days sensitization workshop on weather & Climate services including agrometeorology at ARDC Samtenling.